Databases

The Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor

The Amerasia Affair was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era. Unlike Alger Hiss or the Rosenberg cases, it did not lead to an epic courtroom confrontation or imprisonment or execution of any of the principals. The Amerasia Affair sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.

America: History & Life
Subscription will be terminated from 1 July 2022. Interlibrary Loan maybe helpful.

America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

EBSCO Mobile APP EBSCO Mobile APP

Archives Direct

It is the suite of collections from The National Archives, of which the section we can access to is from the UK government's archives about Foreign Office Files for China, 1949 to 1980.

Archives Explorer

This allows you to search the Library subscribed databases from Adam Matthew with a single search box – including the following databases: 1. China, America and the Pacific, 2. China: Culture and Society, 3. China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 4. Foreign Office Files for China 1919 – 1980.

Books on China Online, 16th – Early 20th Century
Free Online Database

This database is a collection of China Studies compiled by the University Library, covering the book titles published between the 16th to early 20th centuries in English, Portuguese, French, and etc.
此資料庫是由本館彙編的早期中國研究選輯﹐內容涵蓋十六至二十世紀初研究中國的典籍﹐涉及語種有英文、葡文、法文等。

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture

Research The Oliveira Lima Library collection lauded as the finest Luso-Brazillian material available to U.S. scholars.

China and the Modern World

Research China during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; coverage includes diplomacy, economics, imperialism, and more.

China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949)

China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949.
This resource features a significant collection of articles and photos on the founding and development of Christian higher education in China, including the establishment and growth into prominence of such institutions as Yenching University, the University of Nanking, Ginling College, Shandong Christian University, Soochow University, St. John’s University, Shanghai Baptist College, and the Canton Christian College.

China and the Modern World: Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949)

China and the Modern World: Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China 1854-1949 provides an excellent primary source collection for the study of China and its relations with the West in the late Qing and Republican periods. The records included in this collection - official correspondence, despatches, reports, memoranda, and private and confidential letters - constitute invaluable and often unique evidence of Chinese life, the economy and politics through the Taiping Rebellion, the Boxer Rebellion, the Revolution of 1911, the May 30 Movement, the two Sino-Japanese Wars, and the Chinese Civil War.

China, America and the Pacific

It explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. The scope consists of manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.